#34 Mulus Weizen

Eureka, and another recipe from the early days. Today, the third batch of wheat beer for the wheat yeast experiment. There was just the Wyeast’s #3942 Belgian Wheat strain left to be tested. The rest of the batch went to my sister’s Matura party (certificate to begin studies at an University). The name Mulus is a description for a student who just got graduated but did not start at the University yet.

Recipe: Mulus Weizen
Numbers: Volume [L] 40 (10.6 gal)
Original gravity 13.7°P
Terminal gravity 4.6- 5.2°P (different strains)
Color Around 3 EBC
IBU 10 IBU
ABV Around 5 %
Grains: Wheat Malt (3 EBC) 5.2 kg
Pilsner Malt (3 EBC) 4.2 kg
Acidified malt (5 EBC) 0.2 kg (added at 53°C)
Hops: Hallertauer (4.2% AA) 22.9 g and boil for 60 min
Hallertauer (4.2% AA) 22.9 g and boil for 30 min
Yeast: #3068 Weihenstephan, #3942 Belgian Wheat
Water: Burgdorf Mash: 24 L (6.3 gal), sparge: 34 L (9 gal) @78°C (172°F)
Rest: 4 steps Mash in @47°C (117°F) without acidified malt, 20 min @ 45°C (113°F), add acidified malt, 15 min @ 53°C (127°F), 30 min @ 63°C (145°F), 40 min @ 72°C (162°F), 10 min @ 78°C (172°F)
Boil: Total 60 min
Fermentation: Primary 7 days @ 18°C (72°F) in a plastic bucket
Secondary N/A
Maturation: Carbonation (CO2 vol) 3 with cane sugar
Maturation time 1 week @20°C (68°F) and 3 – 4 weeks @4°C (39°F)

05/21/2011: Brew day. Brewed a Irish Stout in parallel to this batch. I guess this was one of my most favorite brew days ever. Because some of my sister’s friends helped me to brew. So I let them stir the mash the whole time… No, I am just kidding. But all went well, even the lautering process. Perfect. And I really enjoy talking about the whole brewing process in a very chemical way… Well, isn’t the whole mashing and resting process a biochemistry experiment? That was enough science and fun for this post. I split the batch into three fermenters and let the #3068 and #3942 do their job.

06/03/2011: Bottled the beers with sugar and let them carbonate for nearly one week. And off they went into the refrigerator.

The tasting notes of the brews can be found in the wheat yeast comparison experiment.

And after seven batches (!) of wheat beer in 2011, with a total of 121 L (32 gal), I am a bit bored of wheat beers. And I still have some bottles of wheat beer in the refrigerator… But I will proceed on brewing wheat beers. One reason, I really enjoy a wheat beer in the summer especially a dark one, and second, I have six different wheat yeasts in my yeast library waiting for a next batch.

Leave a Reply

